Shipping and Wine Charges
To offer you the best shipping rates, we ship from facilities in California, Missouri and New York, depending on your location. Our recommended order quantities are 2, 6, and 12 bottle packages. Based on the weather, we may restrict Ground service to certain states in order to maintain the integrity of the wine; during warmer months, we only ship with service to locations with one or two day transit times.
Adult Signature Requirement
We strongly suggest shipping your order to a business address, as all state laws require an adult signature at the time of delivery for any package containing wine. It is the recipient’s responsibility to ensure an adult over 21 years of age is available to sign for the delivery. Shipments will not be delivered if a recipient is not 21 years of age or older or does not have an acceptable form of ID (such as a driver’s license, passport or birth certificate), or the recipient shows signs of intoxication.
Key Points to Know About Our Shipping Schedule:
Orders cannot be shipped the same day they are placed online. Shipping wine is complex due to various state-mandated limits and requirements. We verify orders through our state compliance matrix to ensure the legality of all shipments. It takes one business day to verify and process an order, then an additional day for picking and packing
If you would like to schedule an order with a shipping date in the future, please call us at (800) 588-0298 rather than using the online store. We are happy to schedule orders for future shipping dates, pending inventory availability. Upon the third missed delivery attempt, your shipment will be returned to Cakebread Cellars. If this occurs, we retain your original shipping charge. We’ll kindly ask you to cover the expense to re-ship it back to you.
Due to state regulations, we currently are unable to ship directly to the following states; UT, MS, AR, RI, DE, IN, NJ, TN, WY.